Book Review: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker by Kerry Wilkinson

40511582

About the Book:

Title: The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker

Author: Kerry Wilkinson

Publisher: Bookouture

Publication Date: July 26th, 2018

Genres: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller

Rating: 4/5


1

‘I will never forget the night I drowned…’

A village with something to hide.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor Parker wakes up cold and alone in the river that twists through her quiet village. She has no memory of how she got there. But she does know that another girl was drowned in the same river the summer before, held under the water by an unknown killer…

A community torn apart.

Eleanor is a normal, every day teenager. She argues with her mum, spends her days with her best friend, and is looking forward to a carefree summer of sunshine and music. Who would want to hurt her?

A shocking secret.

Determined to unlock the mystery of what really happened to her, Eleanor can’t escape the feeling that something awful links her to the previous summer’s murder. But will she find out the truth before it’s too late?

A gripping and extraordinary coming of age novel that will make you question everything and keep you guessing until the very end. Perfect for fans of We Were Liars, Looking for Alaska by John Green and hit TV show Riverdale.

2


I received a complimentary copy of this book from Bookouture through NetGalley. Opinions expressed in this review are completely my own.


 

The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker is an imaginative, young adult thriller with a paranormal element which readers will revel in.

The story starts with Eleanor Parker waking alone in a river with no memory of the last night’s event. When she tries to make sense of what happened to her, she also notices a lot of changes in herself. She cannot fall asleep, her senses are being weird, and she always feels cold. These things strengthen her belief that she died that night and came back to life. Not knowing whom to trust, Eleanor begins to investigate her own death.

The premise of investigating one’s own death truly fire’s someone’s imagination. Since the story is told through Eleanor’s eyes, it makes the readers scrutinize clues and motives of people to know the truth behind lies and deceits. It’s amusing to see how Eleanor needs to do her investigation while not revealing her predicament for fear that no one will believe her. The flow of the story is fast, and Eleanor’s humor and comments make the story more entertaining. The tension building and layers of mystery are well-written. Lastly, the conclusion is very satisfying and perfectly fits the tone and mood of the book.

Eleanor is a very likable character. She isn’t whiny and self-absorbed like other teen characters, and her sense of humor is always on point.

The only minor problem that I had is that there isn’t a clear explanation about how Ellie came back to life. However, it might be the author’s intention to leave that part to the reader’s imagination. Also, I think it would have been better if some characters were fleshed out.

Overall, The Death and Life of Eleanor Parker is an enjoyable young adult mystery that gives Riverdale charm and vibes.

I gave this book 4/5 stars!


3

3508219

Kerry Wilkinson has had No.1 bestsellers in the UK, Canada, South Africa and Singapore, as well as top-five books in Australia. He has also written two top-20 thrillers in the United States. His book, Ten Birthdays, won the RNA award for Young Adult Novel of the Year in 2018.

As well as his million-selling Jessica Daniel series, Kerry has written the Silver Blackthorn trilogy – a fantasy-adventure serial for young adults – a second crime series featuring private investigator Andrew Hunter, plus numerous standalone novels. He has been published around the world in more than a dozen languages.

Originally from the county of Somerset, Kerry has spent far too long living in the north of England, picking up words like ‘barm’ and ‘ginnel’.

When he’s short of ideas, he rides his bike or bakes cakes. When he’s not, he writes it all down.

Find out more at: his website or Facebook

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: